Ever Considered a Glam-bor?

So I was channel flipping tonight (as I rarely do), and I saw an interview on Arsenio Hall (can you tell I was channel flipping yet?) where Shanola Hampton from "Shameless" was being interviewed and spoke about her delivery that she had not two weeks prior to the interview she was having with Arsenio.  She called her delivery it a Glam-bor.  Very briefly she went into detail about how in between contractions, she would get all dolled up (i.e. putting on her eyelashes, makeup, blush, lipstick) and take selfies before she delivered her child.

At first I thought this was the most narcissistic thing I could ever imagine.  I mean there you are, getting ready to bring a child into the world, having some of the worse pains known to mankind thrashing through you and you want to play with your make-up??!? 

So I looked it up.  It wasn't a very easy thing to find information about, but it is out there.  Those times I did find information online, however it wasn't being referred to as a Glam-bor.

Getting Glam For Labor and Delivery! - Ok a part of this article I can agree with. Pampering yourself (within reason and your financial ability) sounds like a reasonable thing to do before having your child considering the fact that for the next 2-4 weeks after delivering you won't have time to even think about that sort of thing since you will be juggling between sleep and caring for your baby.  Even I picked out a couple of robes and reasonable nightgowns I would be using while staying in the hospital for the couple of days after my delivery.

Getting Glam for the Delivery Room - Most of the quotes in this one really don't say "glam" to me, but more like finding ways to make a soon-to-be-mom feel a little better about her situation.

So what is your version of getting glammed up?  To what extreme would you/did you do for your own child's delivery?

The Cure For My Disease

I suffer from what I thought was an incurable disease. Unfortunately it hits me at the most random of times, especially when I am needing it the least to happen. Many names for it include, "cognitive itch," "musical imagery repetition," "involuntary musical imagery," and "stuck song syndrome."

Yep, I suffer from earworms.

Earworms, according to Wikipedia are, "a catchy piece of music that continually repeats through a person's mind after it is no longer playing." The word earworm is a calque the German word, "Ohrwurm." According to research by James Kellaris, 98% of individuals experience earworms. Women and men experience the phenomenon equally often, but earworms tend to last longer for women and irritate them more (yeah no DUH!). Kellaris also says women, musicians and people who are neurotic, tired or stressed are most prone to earworm attacks (crap I'm 5 out of 5). In This Is Your Brain on Music: The Science of a Human Obsession written by Daniel Levitin, he states that research has shown musicians and people with OCD (obsessive-compulsive disorder) are more likely to suffer from earworm attacks (which explains volumes for me).

Most of the time it really isn't such a big deal. In fact, it has helped on many occasions to help past the time while doing mindless occupational routine oppression. Unfortunately my earworms have gone outside of their excepted bubble and showed up when I need my mind the most.

A perfect example is when I need to remember something the most, like the name of someone important during a conversation or that last item on the grocery list that I need in order to make dinner tonight.  Just as I am working my brain the most... earworm.

♫ ♪ "Rocket number nine take off to the planet... To the planet... VENUS..." ♫ ♪

I have been plagued by songs, sometimes for days on end. My musical tastes and collection is so eclectic and vast, that it never is within the same musical genre when it happens. They aren't even relevant to whatever I am thinking or working on. Last year I was plagued by Mumford & Son's "I Will Wait" every time I had to get something done on my parents' estate. Just recently that song has finally died down to a low hum of earworms thankfully.

The worse of all is when earworms collide (♫ ♪ "Now this is what it's like when world's collide... Now this is what it's like..." ♫ ♪) and I start to unintentionally create smashups.

A smashup (again, thank you Wikipedia) is, "a song or composition created by blending two or more pre-recorded songs, usually by overlaying the vocal track of one song seamlessly over the instrumental track of another."

Oh the songs I create when this has happens! If only I had the computer programs to recreate them so you can join in on the madness! Muahahahah!!!! ....*ahem*.... Honestly, I just haven't done the research to see what programs are out there to use as of yet. That's a project for another day. :P

Many famous people have had earworms. This isn't a new thing made in the 80's (just the term "earworm" has). In fact, Edgar Allan Poe once wrote in "The Imp of the Perverse":
It is quite a common thing to be thus annoyed with the ringing in our ears, or rather in our memories, of the burthen of some ordinary song, or some unimpressive snatches from an opera. Nor will we be the less tormented if the song in itself be good, or the opera air meritorious.
So I decided to do a little more research on this crazy thing that I deal with on a day to day basis.  Here is a list of suggestions on how to get the songs out of your head:
  1. Find another song to sing or play a different melody all together.
    (Which almost always results in the old song disappearing and the new song getting stuck in it's place. Oh yeah, that's brilliant! ...NOT!)

  2. Listen to the song all the way through (this works for some people).
    (Oh that's awesome. Let's just put the whole song in my head instead of a line or two!)

  3. Turn on the radio or a CD to get your brain tuned in to another song.
    (Again, doesn't that count as doing what the #1 suggestion said?)

  4. Share the song with a friend.
    (Although quite humorous to share in your maniacal insanity, the results could make it worse because they could bring that earworm back to you at a later date. Trust me, my daughter does it to me all the time after I share her mine.)

  5. Picture the earworm as a real creature crawling out of your head, and imagine stomping on it.
    (Do not try this if you have a phobia of bugs.)
All of these suggestions didn't work for me, so I dug deeper. What I found out is this:
"Scientists at Western Washington University found that engaging the working memory in moderately difficult tasks (such as anagrams, Sudoku puzzles, or reading a novel) was an effective way of stopping earworms and of reducing their recurrence."
Seriously? Just do a simple search-a-word puzzle? That's all?

Oh well shit... :/

Burning Calories Doing Housework

I don't totally believe this.  Sure I have days where I am completely exhausted after doing one or more of these chores, but I burn less calories pedaling on my bike for the same amount of time (with a lot more sweat happening).  Honestly if it really was true, I think I'd be a helluvalot more fit than I am.  ;)

What's your opinion?


How Many Calories You Burn Doing Housework
How Many Calories You Burn Doing Housework by Master Cleaners

Large vs. Small Breasts & The In-Between Sizes

Ok. This became a discussion with a friend of mine and I a few weeks ago...

Big busty girl problems vs. smaller breasted girl problems.



Apparently there are problems that big busty women share that smaller ones just don't understand. One of which is "the boob lift" where you have to lift your boobs with a bra on (and sometimes without) to not feel so... out of place. One smaller breasted mom I know used to make fun of me for it because she thought I looked ridiculous. What made me not feel so out of place was taking to a good friend of mine that is actually bigger than me in the chest area. There were soo many things we could relate to that lower cupped women made fun of me for.

Soon after this talk with my friend, I came across an article about it which not only made me feel a little better that The Breast Fairy was generous to me when I was younger, but that there is a webcomic site completely devoted to the problems and perks of being a busty girl.

12 Problems Busty Girls Have

Busty Girl Comics

Also to send a little fact fun into it, I found the page about Brassiere Measurement over on Wikipedia. It is a TON of information, but it is what you need to know about bra fitting no matter what your size is.

So let's discuss this. Are any of you a part of the Busty Girl Society? Can you relate? At one point in the bra fitting does one go from being small to average to busty? What's your opinions on this?

Make It With A Fireman....

Hi ya'll!  Long time, no postie!  :)


So this morning I was sipping my coffee while browsing my Facebook wall, when someone posted a YouTube video. Before the video started, this commercial came one, and then I totally forgot what the hell I came to YouTube for.

I am not trying to endorse Sauza Tequila by posting this here. I am trying to endorse firemen... and kittens!!!



After about 1:08, I didn't hear a damn thing he said. Did you ladies? LOL!

In fact, it took me watching this a good five or so times before I could hear all that he was saying.  He has one of those voices (similar to my husband's, but I am mostly used to his by now) that mesmerizes you.

Enjoy!

Book Smashing... Smash Booking.... Hubba Wha?

So I found this video the other day...



...and it got me thinking a bit.

Have any of you got into the craft of smashing yet? It kind of looks like scrapbooking but on a much more personal scale.

Then I started to realize something about myself. I have a fabric, sewing and craft "smash" book that i have been keeping all my ideas in and never knew there was a term for it. Maybe the name is new and the concept is old, IDK. I also wondered what made a smash book (from a kit like in the video or not) different from just keeping a hard covered art book, a very nice ink pen, and a glue stick? Maybe it is for people who want the kitschy pre-made design kit? I mean, the kit is cute (although I'd like to hope the books don't have the same patterned pages in them because I really didn't like some of the designs inside) but I kind of wonder if I am just better off getting myself a new black hard-covered art book and smash it myself? ;-)

Anyway, was curious to know what you all thought of this trend... if it is one.

Slushy Magic & Pawggles??!?

Ok, so I was not the ideal mother this morning as I tried to get my kiddo to sit down and have a good breakfast while I rushed around the house, getting my own self ready to take her to school. I plopped her down in front of the tv with her bowl of cereal, something I usually reserve to do on weekends or during vacation from school. Today, of all days, she asked to watch a non-educational channel that had station breaks and regular commercials (which for our family, is extremely uncommon for us to watch anymore since we have almost completely sworn off regular television as well as cable all together). I figured "just this once" and BAM! two commercials for things that made me stop dead in my tracks and make me wonder how many people are actually buying to these gimmicks and why haven't I thought of the next million dollar get rich quick as seen on tv product.

Those two commercials were for Slushy Magic and Pawggles.

For those of you who haven't seen the commercial for Slushy Magic, feast your eyes on their website since they have a video of their commercial right there. Now really, what makes this product so damn magical? Has any of you tried it yet? All I can see from the commercial and photos on their site is it a couple of plastic-y reusable ice cubes and a long tupperware cylinder (I am not even going to get into the "magic spoon straw" part). Am I wrong? I am sorely tempted to go to BB&B and buy a few reusable ice cubes (since I already have the cylinder container) and see if my ("magical") science experiment will work just as good, if not better than spending $19.99 for two of these. Heck, I am sure 7-11 won't mind if I take a couple extra "magical spoon straws" on my next trip. ;-P

The other product is Pawggles. They are (I am guessing from watching the commercial a couple of times now) half plushy doll, half slipper and the bottom half POPS open to slip your foot in. Wow. Really? For $19.99? Maybe if the pet designs looked a little more appealing and if I was able to touch them for quality control, but I've seen much better looking slippers for about the same price that are lots of fun like the white tiger slipper feet my daughter got as a present after we took a trip to Busch Gardens in Tampa.



So after those two commercials, I got reminded (once again) why I am looking forward to dropping our cable all together. :-/